The 8 classical dance styles of India!

My article about the 8 classical Indian dance forms. published at POOL Magazine India and India! Magazine, Germany.


Article by AVIJIT DAS – Kuchipudi Dancer from Bangalore

This is the first article from a serial about the classical Indian Dance Legends from the eight dance styles Bharatnatyam, Kathak, Kathakali, Kuchipudi, Manipuri, Mohinattyam, Odissi and Sattriya. Writen by the youngest professional Indian Kuchipudi Dancer Avijit Das from Bengaluru.


Bharata Natyam is one of the eight Indian classical dance forms of India. This dance form originated in the temples and courts of southern India. Later it was documented as a performing art in the 19th century by four brothers known as the Tanjore Quartet (musicians). Their musical compositions are use for Bharata Natyam dance repertoire even today. The art form used to performs by generation to generation under the Devadasi system. Devadasi women were dedicated to temples to serve the GOD as dancers and musicians performing part of the elaborate rituals. These male gurus (Nattuvanars) were the most important…

View original post 2,014 more words


One thought on “The 8 classical dance styles of India!

  1. a very helpful article. we as Indians only sometimes are unaware of how rich our dance forms are. classical dance forms are truly an underappreciated art form and we should promote these beautiful dance forms as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s